Is this optical sensor ruined?

James77

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 3, 2010
Messages
214
Reaction score
257
Location
Providence, RI
Hey Roger,
I hope all has been well with you.

I noticed this when rearranging equipment the last couple days. The wire right at the end of the optical sensor is cracked open, exposing the wires inside. About 2 weeks ago the optical sensor failed twice, and the float triggered the alarm, though that may have been a dirty sensor. It has worked since.

The water level has risen above that cord exposed area a few times since.

Is the sensor no good now? Unit is about 5 years old, is a repair able to be done DIY....even with splicing wires?

I tried to get pic as best I could.

Thanks!
Jim

Tunze.PNG
 

rvitko

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 20, 2012
Messages
1,202
Reaction score
752
Location
Austin, TX
Jim,

The sensor can be replaced, it is $29.49 to replace a sensor. Send me the controller and I will get it repaired.

Tunze USA
305 Victor St
Austin TX 78753

I only need the main control box with the 3 attached wires (float, optic sensor, pump pigtail) and a note with your contact and return info.
 
OP
James77

James77

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 3, 2010
Messages
214
Reaction score
257
Location
Providence, RI
Jim,

The sensor can be replaced, it is $29.49 to replace a sensor. Send me the controller and I will get it repaired.

Tunze USA
305 Victor St
Austin TX 78753

I only need the main control box with the 3 attached wires (float, optic sensor, pump pigtail) and a note with your contact and return info.
That’s not bad at all.
I’ll send it in the next couple days.
Thanks Roger!
 

RDruz

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 18, 2021
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Location
USA
Hi, I am also having problems with my Osmolator and I think it is the sensor. The water level in my sump goes down and the Osmolator is not topping it off. When I take the sensor out of the water, clean and dry it, and then plug the unit back in, the red light goes on, then the yellow goes on and the pump runs, and then the green light goes on and stays on.

Rvitko, does that sound like a bad sensor? Could I send it to you to be repaired?
Thanks,
Robert
 

rvitko

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 20, 2012
Messages
1,202
Reaction score
752
Location
Austin, TX
Yes, but make sure the sensor is completely clean, when dry it should be shiny, a common issue is a dull haze of mineral deposits that can be solved by a 1 hour soak in vinegar. Also be sure there is not a refugium grow light near the sensor, grow light spectrum includes infrared and can blind the sensor.
 

RDruz

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 18, 2021
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Location
USA
Yes, but make sure the sensor is completely clean, when dry it should be shiny, a common issue is a dull haze of mineral deposits that can be solved by a 1 hour soak in vinegar. Also be sure there is not a refugium grow light near the sensor, grow light spectrum includes infrared and can blind the sensor.
Thank you. I will soak it and try again. If it still fails the test, I will send it to you.
Many thanks!
 

RDruz

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 18, 2021
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Location
USA
I soaked it, dried it, and tested it again. It still failed. I will send the controller, etc., to you.
Thanks,
Robert
 

HOW MUCH DO YOU LIKE ZOANTHIDS?

  • LOVE them

    Votes: 364 44.4%
  • Like them

    Votes: 224 27.3%
  • They're "ok"

    Votes: 153 18.7%
  • Don't like them

    Votes: 45 5.5%
  • Hate them

    Votes: 24 2.9%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 10 1.2%
Gluemasters - your best choice for CA super glue
Top