Issue with MP40wqd when manually activating Feed mode

Discussion in 'EcoTech Marine' started by david p., Jan 11, 2017.

  1. david p.

    david p. Well-Known Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    836
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Hi,

    are any of you aware of an issue with MP40wqd, when i do activate 'Feeding mode' manually, one of my MP40wqd will do a rattling noise than the dry side will jsut fall from the glass. (see picture)
    it does that 100% i do it manually, but when feed mode activated with my programs via ESL and reeflink for my morning and evening feeding for the fish it will not do it ?

    i have tried to clean the wet side (impeler), but it still does it.

    thanks

    david

    P1110770.JPG
     
    jsker likes this.
    Tags:

  2. jsker

    jsker Reefing is all about the adventure Staff Member Team R2R R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Partner Member 2019 R2R Secret Santa Build Thread Contributor Article Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    Messages:
    18,050
    Likes Received:
    31,486
    Location:
    Central Florida
    It does it to me some times too. As you stated, I also totally dismantle the wet side and clean it, then back together and no issue for a while.
     
  3. jenreefer

    jenreefer Well-Known Member R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    719
    Location:
    Magnolia, TX
    You need to soak wet side in vinegar until all the buildup that is visible in photo comes off. That is a crazy amount of buildup.
     
  4. david p.

    david p. Well-Known Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    836
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Thats just the screen that is dirty. I cleaned all the inne parts and impeler
     
  5. david p.

    david p. Well-Known Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    836
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    decided to clean the cover, mainly red algae that kept snails off my MP40, and cleaned all the interior again. still does it. today for the first time, it fell off on a schedule feeding, not manual.
    meaning it could happen anytime now.

    any way to solve this ?
     
  6. Cyclist

    Cyclist Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    La Jolla, CA
    Mine did this often. I noticed that it did it when it was switching modes. If I left it in one mode I had no problems with it jumping. So I ended changing modes on a schedule maintained be the apex. now I manually switch modes when needed.

    I need to add, I have two mo40 QD's. Only one did this the other one works 100 % of the time. So I don't blame the mode switching with the apex, but think there is something off balance with the mp40.

    I keep my mp40's looking like they just came out of their box. I think the hide better that way.
     
  7. Ebone

    Ebone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    279
    Location:
    Wilmington NC
    mine does it as well... even when spotless... my 40 seems more touchy then my 10
     
  8. hybridazn

    hybridazn Acro killer..... Staff Member Team R2R R2R Supporter Photo of the Month Award R2R Excellence Award 3RMAS Member Partner Member 2019 R2R Secret Santa Showcase Editor Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    7,766
    Likes Received:
    9,195
    Location:
    Grapeville PA
    Maybe secure the wire on the dryside so it hangs exactly where you want it so there isn't any additional strain on the magnet
     
  9. david p.

    david p. Well-Known Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    836
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    i use the zip-tie already.
     
  10. Be102

    Be102 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2016
    Messages:
    911
    Likes Received:
    334
    My Mp40 did this after I cleaned it once, it seemed it wasn't getting the right suction connection. They are really finicky I have found. What I did to fix mine was to just gently turn the in-tank side very slightly back and forth until the magnet caught on. Never had this problem again. Good luck!
     
  11. david p.

    david p. Well-Known Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    836
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    will try this, do you think by using the smaller 'pad' under my dry side ? i use the one recommended for my glass
     
  12. Be102

    Be102 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2016
    Messages:
    911
    Likes Received:
    334
    I think that if you haven't changed tanks you should be fine. I would stick to what's recommended for the glass size on your tank. I didn't change anything other than some really fine adjustments itself.
     
  13. david p.

    david p. Well-Known Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    836
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    did you turn the wet side while in operation or while power is off ?
     
  14. Be102

    Be102 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2016
    Messages:
    911
    Likes Received:
    334
    Whilst in operation because you can feel the suction better; has your pump ever rattled and you had to adjust it? Basically just did that and it stuck on one day no problem
     
  15. david p.

    david p. Well-Known Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    836
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    i tried... still falling... my wet side was at the bottome of the tank.
     
  16. sn2per

    sn2per Active Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    The wetsides tend to become unstable for a couple of reasons.. the first being glass thickness and the correct pump. The second and more than likely the cause is the difference between the settings when they change... going from 75% to barely for feed mode straight back up to 75% is too much of a shift. If you haven't already adjust the fed mode power % so the drop isn't as large. Also consider that although you can use feedmode do you really need too?? I've always wondered how fish and corals feed in the ocean without a feedmode haha
     
  17. david p.

    david p. Well-Known Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    836
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    for thikness, i follow ecotech recommandation. difference in %, i would buy this if the pump uncouple when the change happen, but usually it will start feed mode, and a few minutes in the cycle it will uncouple, it's not happening right after the change from reefcrest to feedmode, or when i activate it manually, i run my pumps at 45% max, i used to have them up at 55% max, but in average i beleive im around 35-40%.

    i though about removing feedmode, had the same thought that you did, but still, one pump does not seem to 'work' as intended.
     
  18. AdamNC

    AdamNC Lawnmower Blenny says nom nom R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award R2R Secret Santa Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Messages:
    2,892
    Likes Received:
    1,835
    Location:
    Winston Salem NC
    I've not had this problem yet and I have both a 2016 wQD model and a 2013 wES model.
     
  19. sn2per

    sn2per Active Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    That is strange that they uncouple after the change in speed... and to be fair it's normally when they ramp back up again. Other members have suggested a good clean did you get chance to do this? Did it help any?
     
  20. david p.

    david p. Well-Known Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    836
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    yes i did clean, though i posted those pictures :p here they are.
    i used to keep the cap on the impeller 'udrty' because it was covered in red algae and for some reason it prevent my snail to go on my powerheads. now everything is clean and it still hapens.
    pictures as of today.... feeding just starteded and had to re-install my mp40...

    P1170843.JPG

    P1170844.JPG

    P1170848.JPG
     
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
Loading...