Issue with Polyp Bailout for Torch and Frog Spawn

Hank The Tank

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I recently purchased a Torch that wasn't doing so well so I watched a video on dosing magnesium (Kent) to help it. I followed the bottle's instruction. After dosing the torch started to polyp bailout and both heads have died. Worsts off, my frog spawn was doing fantastic and now one of it's head have bailed out too. I'm suspecting the magnesium was too high (above 1500) after dosing and both corals didn't like it.

Here is my main question: After the bailout, I have a skeleton of the torch (see pic). Should I just throw it out or is there a chance the polyps will grow back? Sounds like a dumb question, but I'm new to this hobby. Videos on the tube just talk about the problem but no one spoke of what to do with the remains.

Thanks for your advice.

IMG_5219.JPG IMG_5218.JPG

Pistondog

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I recently purchased a Torch that wasn't doing so well so I watched a video on dosing magnesium (Kent) to help it. I followed the bottle's instruction. After dosing the torch started to polyp bailout and both heads have died. Worsts off, my frog spawn was doing fantastic and now one of it's head have bailed out too. I'm suspecting the magnesium was too high (above 1500) after dosing and both corals didn't like it.

Here is my main question: After the bailout, I have a skeleton of the torch (see pic). Should I just throw it out or is there a chance the polyps will grow back? Sounds like a dumb question, but I'm new to this hobby. Videos on the tube just talk about the problem but no one spoke of what to do with the remains.

Thanks for your advice.

IMG_5219.JPG IMG_5218.JPG