It is absolutely beautiful, its skirt tips glow.Ive been nurturing this nem for a couple of years now... still havent confirmed species.

RodsRockFlowers

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
20200515_002453.jpg
received_678127326364008.jpeg

Ron Reefman

Lets Go Snorkeling!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Looks like a Rock Flower Anemone to me. BTW Rod, I love them. I have 30+ in a breeding tank and 5 more in my display tank. And I get to see them every time I go snorkeling in the Florida Keys!

I'm guessing the oral disk doesn't fluoresce under blue lights, right?
If that's the case then this in one of those less common middle depth RFAs.

Shallow water (2 to 8 feet) ones hardly fluoresce except for some green tentacles and they rarely have any color in the oral disk other than black, white and brown.

Deep water (25 to 40 feet) ones usually have lots of color and most of them fluoresce a lot, both tentacles and oral disks. And many have disks that are more than one color, some may even have 3 to 5 colors.

Not too many appear in the hobby that come from in between depths (10 to 20 feet). These may fluoresce a bit, and are also far more likely to have oral disks that display a color (seems a flat red or flat green are the most common). But the disk colors rarely fluoresce and they are commonly just one color.

BTW, @RodsRockFlowers, welcome to Reef2Reef.
Welcome (2).jpg

You may want to read over this thread as it has a lot of good RFA info:
https://www.reef2reef.com/threads/ron-reefmans-rock-flower-experience.409436/

OP
OP
R

RodsRockFlowers

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Looks like a Rock Flower Anemone to me. BTW Rod, I love them. I have 30+ in a breeding tank and 5 more in my display tank. And I get to see them every time I go snorkeling in the Florida Keys!

I'm guessing the oral disk doesn't fluoresce under blue lights, right?
If that's the case then this in one of those less common middle depth RFAs.