What is my BTA pouting about now!?!?

SueAndHerZoo

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Back when I was a newbie and had no clue what I was doing I purchased a BTA and threw it in my tank. Within a few months I had many, many anemones and was giving them away. The original one was HUGE - at least 12" across. I never checked water parameter and never fed it. That was years ago and recently I decided I wanted anemones again. Purchased a BTA and acclimated it to one of my tanks. It looked beautiful for about a month and I fed it regularly. I never moved so I assumed it liked the spot I put it in. For the past few weeks, however, it's been shrinking and shriveling up. I can't feed it when it's in this condition so hoped he would just "get over it" and be his beautiful self again. But he's not. He's now staying totally retracted.

I checked parameters just now:
Salinity 1.022
PH: 8.2
Phosphate: .25
Nitrates: .5
Alk: 10.5

Is my tank TOO clean for him???? When I neglected my tanks they seemed to do better.... very frustrating.
Sue

dannyd_

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have had success with mine at higher nitrates (10 at the lowest), and unless you changed something else your only difference between before when it was thriving and now is that you probably had a much dirtier tank. Has there been any changes to your system since before this? I was also going to mention your salinity might be on the low side.

OP
OP
SueAndHerZoo

SueAndHerZoo

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0