Kalkwasser Question

Caleb123

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
3   0   0
Hello,
I’m new to Kalkwasser and I plan to incorporate the Avast Kalk stirrer into my current system. The tank is fairly new so water changes are keeping up for now. I originally bought the Kamoer X1 Pro-T pump for this, but since then I’ve decided to buy a Kamoer F4 Pro so that I have the ability to dose other additives. My question is whether the F4 will be sufficient for the Kalkwasser? (Is the peristaltic pump necessary?) If so, I am still within the return timeframe of the X1, so I can recoop some money for more coral

Doctorgori

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
just tagging along as I’ve heard a stirrer isn’t needed, others say it helps
I’m not debating as I have no clue, just waiting to read the input.
How much kalk are you dosing daily anyway?

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm not a fan of stirrers compared to dosing from a settled reservoir, but a stirrer can work in many situations.

Some dosing pumps won't have the volume capacity per day needed to dose limewater/kalkwasser, which is similar in amount to your daily evaporation rate.

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So would I try to figure out my daily alk requirements then try to dose accordingly or just set it up then tune it so alk stays stable?

Both work. I prefer the latter because changing alk and pH will change the daily alk demand.

bnord

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
for what its worth and as an N of 1, I bought, set up and then abandoned my Avast.
Not nearly enough benefit over settled carboy with a rack to keep the tube off the bottom

but best of luck with it

Rjramos

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello,