lighting a 72" DT and a 72" Display fuge

fermentedhiker

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm in the process of setting up a 125 gallon 72" DT and a 72x12x12" Display fuge mounted above the DT. The guy I got the DT off of was using three aquatic life edge 24" LEDs and was successful with softies.

I'm going to be running a mixed reef with softies , lps , and a BTA so I figured I'd need better lighting and thought about using the aquatic life fixtures on the fuge since it's so shallow power won't be an issue. The fuge will be zoos, palys, maxi mini, and slower growing macros. I started playing around with the lights today and they look like they are more for freshwater(1 white channel, 1 RBW channel, and 1 moonlight I guess). So I'm thinking they won't look right.

For the fuge I am considering a Current USA Marine IC or IC Pro. Any thoughts on if the Pro is needed for a 12" depth or not?

The DT is a harder thing to decide. Money being what it is an all. I mean 3xkessil, 3xradion, or 3xhydras all could do the job. It's just the thought of spending upwards of 1200$ or more for an Softie/LPS tank seems a bit much............to me at least. Other options are 3x mars aqua or equivalent, 2 32" mars aqua, sb reef, photonv2 is another way to go. Although with two braces three lights might avoid shading from the braces better?

For a better idea of my needs here's a list of my intended coral stocking in no particular order;
Florida ric
yuma
St Thomas
Carlgreni
RFA
Euphyllia
Gonis
duncans
favia
acans
BTA

jda

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I would get a pair of the nicer Chinese fixtures... SB or ReefBreeders. ...or a 4 bulb 60" T5 unit.

OP
OP
fermentedhiker

fermentedhiker

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I would get a pair of the nicer Chinese fixtures... SB or ReefBreeders. ...or a 4 bulb 60" T5 unit.