Lights Out on first Vacation—Need Help Please

The Coug

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I need some advise. I’m relatively new to reefing, I bought a stocked used tank ~5 months ago and I yesterday I’ve headed out of town for the first time.

Last night, my fish watchers called me and said the lights weren’t on. I checked the APEX and it showed the lights still on ‘auto.’ Looking deeper I could see that the lights didn’t draw power all day and the pH didn’t do it’s typical rise through the day when the lights are on.

I was later able to switch the lights to ‘on’ and could see them drawing power and pH rising.

So this AM I had my fish watchers take a look at the lights and see if they would come on if I switched it ‘on’. They said one side was bright, the other side came on, but wasn’t as bright.

I’m using radion G4 pros at ~60% on the ‘auto’ settings. I don’t have the module to program them with the Apex and haven’t messed with the radion settings since April. Yesterday the first day anything unusual has ever happened with them.

I don’t know what to do it anything. I’m going to be gone another 9 days. Any advise appreciated.

3BD33085-14D6-4132-89CD-470280829091.jpeg E43E2461-3C3F-4CB3-B2AC-46E1700D86EE.jpeg 5C68BDD1-0BC2-4091-9546-4909571820EC.jpeg

dwest

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I would be mostly concerned about alkalinity. Usage will go down if lights aren’t functional. If you are dosing I would try to talk the tank sitter through alkalinity tests or have them take a sample to your a LFS.

This all assumes lights aren’t functioning properly still. Are they ok now? I am unclear about that. If so, don’t worry.

OP
OP
T

The Coug

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The lights should turn on in about 4 hours if the ‘auto’ mode works today. I can force them on with the Apex ‘on’ setting but that’ll run them at 100% I think??