Looking for guidance on beginner soft coral for 5g

Karen00

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello fellow saltines,

I just started up a 5g pico a couple weeks ago and am starting to plan for corals. I won't be adding them anytime soon but want to start prepping for them.

I love the softies and I also love coral that flows. As a beginner I was thinking of:
- Tyree Toadstool: Placement high, Light high, Flow high
- Photosynthetic Gorgonian: Placement high, Light high, Flow high
- Rhodactis Mushroom: Placement low, Light low, Flow low
- Green Fury Leather: Placement anywhere, Light low, Flow medium

The tank is approx. 16"L x 6"D (8-1/2" with built in sump) x 11"H

My questions are:
1. Are these beginner corals and are my notes correct about placement, light and flow?
2. Will they get along in the same tank without coral warfare?
3. Do any of these need to go on the sand?
4. Is it too much to add all four?
5. Is the height too shallow for the lower light corals?

Currently I have one rock on the right side of my tank. I was thinking of adding another smaller on to the left but if any of these need sand I can leave the scape as is. I'm looking at getting a small circulation pump for the ones that need more flow.

Thanks!

20210707_213026_compress20.jpg

Fish Think Pink

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello fellow saltines,

I just started up a 5g pico a couple weeks ago and am starting to plan for corals. I won't be adding them anytime soon but want to start prepping for them.

I love the softies and I also love coral that flows. As a beginner I was thinking of:
- Tyree Toadstool: Placement high, Light high, Flow high
- Photosynthetic Gorgonian: Placement high, Light high, Flow high
- Rhodactis Mushroom: Placement low, Light low, Flow low
- Green Fury Leather: Placement anywhere, Light low, Flow medium

The tank is approx. 16"L x 6"D (8-1/2" with built in sump) x 11"H

My questions are: