Mantis Tank Care

Zallergik

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I recently found out about mantis shrimp and they caught my attention. I have never owned a saltwater tank so I thought that this might be a good starting point. I was considering either getting a Peacock Mantis or a Smith Mantis. I was thinking a 30gallon if I was to get a Peacock and 10 gallon if I got Smiths. As I am new to saltwater tank and inverts in general any tips/info about care, feeding, tank setup/preparation tips or thoughts about what Mantis Shrimp would be better for a beginner are welcome.

Derrick0580

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Make sure you corner it and pet it every day to curb aggression….lol, but in all seriousness google is your friend. A mantis is going to be like a typical invert, need low nitrate levels….and kill pretty much anything in the tank with it.

OP
OP
Z

Zallergik

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I recently found out about mantis shrimp and they caught my attention. I have never owned a saltwater tank so I thought that this might be a good starting point. I was considering either getting a Peacock Mantis or a Smith Mantis. I was thinking a 30gallon if I was to get a Peacock and 10 gallon if I got Smiths. As I am new to saltwater tank and inverts in general any tips/info about care, feeding, tank setup/preparation tips or thoughts about what Mantis Shrimp would be better for a beginner are welcome.
I forgot to mention this in the original post but my one worry is what to feed a mantis shrimp. I have seen many people feed their shrimp emerald crabs, crayfish and fish. I worry that I wont be always able to supply live foods all the time. Will frozen krill make due or are their some other foods that they will eat that I can buy thats non expensive and easier to get.

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
13   0   0