Marine Reef Newbie

Aquashel

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone.

About three weeks ago I decided I wanted to build a Reef Aquarium. I live in an apartment building that doesn't allow aquariums larger than 55 gallons. After looking at my options (budget) I decided to go with TWO Aqueon 40g breeder aquarium as my DTs. I wanted to build a system that will incorporate an Aqueon 20g long aquarium as a sump/refugium for both tanks. I'm toying with the idea of purchasing another 20g long and making that into a holding tank for new fish, coral frags, and other marine invertebrates, possibly using half of it as a second refugium. I will eventually be adding two Penn Plax Cascade 1000 canister filters when I have my tanks fully stocked with fish and other marine life. As I pointed out in the thread title I'm new to this and I don't know anyone in the area that has experience in building and maintaining a reef. I would love to hear from people that are passionate about their reef aquariums. I find myself easily distracted and not being able to focus on just one area of my build. I know this is going to be lots of work, time and money especially. I have also purchase 3 heaters, a steel commercial shelving unit and a RO/DI filter. I keep watching out for specials and sales to help with cost. I'm not in any rush and want to do my reef build correctly so I don't have unnecessary complications later. Thank for reading, I welcome any comments and questions.

J

OP
OP
A

Aquashel

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Update: So the commercial shelving unit I order is on backorder and won't arrive until beginning of April. :(

In the meantime I figured I could work on plumping and water test the 4 tanks. Yes, I decided to go with a 2 tank sump/refugium/quarantine. Both are 20g Aqueon tanks. I will use one tank as a sump and the other will be divided into a refugium and holding (quarantine) tank.