Marine Velvet

Rconner15

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi, I'm new to the forum. Excited to bask in the knowledge of experienced reef keepers!

I had an outbreak of marine velvet in my display tank. I'm new to the hobby, and as an ignorant newbie thought I could get away with not quarantining. Well, after about 3 weeks of having some fish in the tank, I noticed one of my firefish flashing off the substrate. A little over a week later, all of my fish were dead. Because I had some corals in my tank, and no QT tank, I tried dosing with Metroplex, to no avail.

So, after that tough lessen, I set up a cheap 10 gallon QT tank, got it cycled, and added a couple clowns and a small yellow basset. Added the fish last Thursday. Yesterday, one of my clowns died of what I'm assuming is velvet.

My question is, can velvet live without water? Somehow, I must have cross contaminated from my DT to my QT. The only way I can figure that may have happened is from the use of my water change buckets and siphon that I used on both tanks. But I tried to ensure everything was dried out before using the equipment on my QT.

I started dosing my QT tank with Cupramine on Monday after noticing my fish were not eating well. Hopefully that will save the other two fish.

Thanks for any responses in advance!

Brew12

Electrical Gru
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi, I'm new to the forum. Excited to bask in the knowledge of experienced reef keepers!

I had an outbreak of marine velvet in my display tank. I'm new to the hobby, and as an ignorant newbie thought I could get away with not quarantining. Well, after about 3 weeks of having some fish in the tank, I noticed one of my firefish flashing off the substrate. A little over a week later, all of my fish were dead. Because I had some corals in my tank, and no QT tank, I tried dosing with Metroplex, to no avail.