Metal stands!

Travisw30

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey guys i just wanted to put this out there for anyone interested. I am a welder and want to start building stands and structual frames for aquriums. So if you want free help let me know. Id like to get a few under my belt. Mostly i fabricate driveway gates and i build frames for marble and granite tilt tables right now.

patent

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
FWIW, Link didn't work for me either. Would love to see your ideas for stands.

Patent

nixer

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
i build my own metal stands (union ironworker) and ive seen some really nice ones and some really scary ones.
ive also seen many that are so overly bilt that its not even funny. the obvious problem is the skin of the stand. its very hard to make a good (visually appealing)transition to wood

OP
OP
Travisw30

Travisw30

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Me and my buddy do marble/granite work on the side and we were joking about wrapping this thing with some absolute black. Would be heavy but one of a kind. Or maybe a black with gold specks. Might do it for my 90g build.

CJO

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Looks like a good start. It might help to put CA in your location along with Atascadero, I had no idea where Atascadero was. You gave me an idea- what about a titanium frame with carbon fiber inserts? That would be different!

CJ

nixer

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0

a pretty good write up, but i cope my tubing instead of 45. it gives more surface area for welding. also you said bigger tanks you use 2x4 tubing? how big are you talking? i have yet to find a need to use 2x4 tube