Mixing live and dry rock? What order? 2 cycles?

7of9

Resistance is Futile.
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m not going to be able to afford going all live rock, but I’d like to include some to help seed my tank. I’m planning to do mostly dry rock and just accept a longer cycle.

My question is whether I should put the wet live rock in when I put in the dry rock and just cycle everything together or if I should let my dry rock cycle down to zero ammonia before adding the wet live rock so that I don’t have to worry as much about an ammonia spike killing things off in the live rock?

In my head, it makes sense and I’d then wait a while and test to make sure I don’t have another mini-cycle after adding the live rock before adding any livestock.

Last time around I had all live rock, so I’m new to having dry rock and most of what I’ve read assumes either all dry rock or all live rock.

Thanks!

Townes_Van_Camp

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I cycle first for 2 weeks bare bottom with dry rock and microbacter start or 7, whichever I grab at the store. Then oncemy live rock and sand order arrives, introduce and re-cycle. Insta-reef.

It's because I'm impatient and don't wanna wait. I want a box full of water now.

fish farmer

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What live rock? Ocean live rock full of critters?

Don't overthink this, dry rock and live rock at the same time. Any die off on the live rock will start a cycle and add the needed bacteria. Monitor for a couple weeks to a month.

I've always setup tanks with 50/50 live to dry.

brandon429

why did you put a reef in that
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You don’t add ammonia to this kind of cycle

add them all, wait two weeks it’s done and it wouldn’t matter if you did dose ammonia the live portion will zip it right up, no testing is needed for this cycle

mix, wait two weeks, done. Agreed fish farmer

OP
OP
7of9