My 29 Gallon build

dmort

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Howdy all, after running a 12 gallon Aquapod for about a year in my classroom (I'm a teacher), I finally started a tank at home.

Its going to be FOWLR for a while - I have to really think about do I want to spend a lot of money on lighting or a little money on lighting.

Right now it is setup with a 17watt T8 bulb in an AGA hood. I've got an Aquaclear 50 filter running activated carbon to deal with the massive amount of fish food my son dumped in the tank.

Circulation is from a jebao wp25 and tunze 6025. I've got a cooling fan setup for hot days and a 150 watt heater setup for cold days. I setup a little cabinent with a triplite surger protector for my electrical.

Got about 30 lbs of dry rock plus 4 pieces of Caribbean live rock.

A tunze osmolator nano is on its way and I'm thinking about skimmer choices.

In lieu of pictures I made this quick video tour. Enjoy!

[video=youtube_share;tgbl-_R3GsY]http://youtu.be/tgbl-_R3GsY[/video]

Ryan2428

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The more and more I see these 29 gallons I want one . Looking good so far bud . U want to see a over run coral 29 look up Pete polyps build thread lol

fishroomlady

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
what do you teach and what grade level? Just curious! awesome that you have an aquapod in your classroom!

nawilson89

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Running a tank in a classroom seems amazing. I would love to do that! (Aspiring teacher here)

OP
OP
D

dmort

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi - I teach 8th grade math and science. The aquapod isn't really related to most of what I teach - its more of a hobby that I try to get kids to think about. There are usually 1-4 kids who are actually interested in the tank.