My Battle With Dinoflagellates

Acropora Crazy

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have been battling these for over 6 months!
The first 6 months I thought it was just algae or some sort of Cyano.
Now after reading this article I realise I have Dino's:cry:
Problem Dinoflagellates and pH by Randy Holmes-Farley - Reefkeeping.com

So the battle is on!:hammer:

This stuff is brutal, it kills any sps it touches and zoas as well as LPS.
I added some hermits and snails from another tank befoe reading the article and thye just seemed to be paralyzed after eating some dino's!

So after reading the article I did the following

raised the PH to 8.4-8.6 using pickling lime( it was running aroung 8-8.2)
turned off all lights for 30 hours
started skimming wetter
changed the carbon in my reactor and added more than usual
changed the GFO in my other reactor and added twice as much GFO
put chaeto back in my fuge
clean and blow off any dino's I can see and get to
I then tuened out the light for another 60 hours
I have also stopped feeding the tank for about 2 weeks now

I would say I now have gotten rid of about 70 percent of them.
I swear these things have almost gotten me to tear my tank down!

I have lost about $2000.00 in livestock at least to these.

But after reading the article I am happy I now know at least what the problem is, because it was killing me before not knowing what was going on.

Has anyone else fought these and won, and if so please LMK what you did to win the battle.

650-IS350

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yep. Twice. Beat it in 7 days.

Turned off all lights, none or hardly any feedings, enclosed the whole tank with a canopy so that it doesn't get a shroud of light. NO water changes etc. after the 7 days or more.. they all turned to dust. then I did a 40-50% WC siphoning all the dust and bebris left by the Dinos'

OP
OP
A

Acropora Crazy

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0