ReefRusty

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
NEW TO THE SALTWATER WORLD

Hi guys,

Thought I would begin with a build thread. I am new to this side of aquariums and will be my first saltwater tank. Have had a small tropical for a few years and well I love the marine life and my young kids absolutely love going to see AQWA in Perth and recently lots of trips to the marine stores.

It took me a couple of months to really decide on a tank and well ended up with the new Waterbox 70.2 tank/stand and sump.

So far I have the following gear.

TANK: Waterbox 70.2 (262l)
LIGHTS: Radion xr15 g5 pro with stand
RTN PUMP: Octo varioS 2 pump
ATO: Kamour one SE
POWERHEADS: 1x Nero 3 wavemaker will get another once I have fish and coral.
CONTROLLER: Aqua medic Dual heater/cooler. 300W Heater and a Twin cooling fan.
SKIMMER: Bubble Magnus curve 5 (will arrive in 2 weeks time)
2 x 190L food grade storage barrels
1 for RODI Water and 1 for Saltwater

Am awaiting my LFS to get some dry rock instore hopefully by weds 2nd dec along with pure white sand.

Have gained lots of knowledge already hear thanks to loads of amazing people. Hope to post more soon.

Sorry tank needs a wipe down and cabinet.

16066276061787170686629123161438.jpg 16066276886222051557227934141564.jpg 1606627739855985143184834082985.jpg 16066280977502676212361578601670.jpg

HL333982

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey ReefRusty,

I'm currently waiting for delivery of the same exact tank and I'm weighing my options in terms of equipment (I have none).

Are you happy with your return pump so far? How's the noise?

I realize you just posted this a few days ago and your tank might not even be wet yet.

It seems as though you went premium in most of your equipment selections. Do you have any advice for more affordable options, especially regarding lights?

OP
OP
ReefRusty

ReefRusty

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey ReefRusty,