My first tank crash? Any better plans?

banik

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ok friends, need some advice. I think I'm in the middle of my first tank crash4 months into the hobby. I've been fighting red planaria for 2 months or so. I've done 2 or 3 doses of FlatwormRX with no issues, except each time the planaria would be back a couple weeks later. I would run carbon shortly after dosing, etc. This past week I decided to be diligent, so 3 doses separated by 3 days. After my second dose, things started being unhappy. My LPS started staying retracted and saw some mucus and mesenterial filaments. My platygyra started doing... something. I did nothing different and the population of flatworms was tiny. I let the carbon do its thing. The next day, things are still not happy. I did a 20% water change and replaced the carbon. The next day, I dosed Prime then did a second 20% water change because things were still not happy. I checked all my params - 77deg, 8.2dkh, 1.027sg, .02 ammonia, 7.8pH (normal for my tank).

Today it's looking slightly worse. I'm going to do a 100-ish% water change and change the carbon, and I can't think of anything else to do. Suggestions?

PXL_20240216_132458501.jpg PXL_20240216_132452147.jpg

PXL_20240216_135004721.jpg
PXL_20240216_135000687.jpg

robanister

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I think you are in trouble cause everything is mounted. I would be doing some daily kcl dips. Also start moving to another tank after dip. If FWS and exit are not working you may need to move things and shut down the tank and restart. amoxacillin dips may help to heal what you are losing.

OP
OP
banik

banik

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0