My GHA algae fight with ATS

Coach v

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have been battling GHA for several months now in my 120. It has sapped my interest, but I have kept up on water changes a few times a month and keeping the skimmer cup clean enough. I generally toothbrush scrub the rocks twice a month. I have a 29 gallon refugium which used to grow cheato well, but its crash coresponds with the GHA outbreak. I only use filter sock occasionally.

I haven't tested in a long minute, since November (like I said, lost interest). Back then regular testing had me at nitrates 1 to 5 and phos between 0.05 and 0.20. I was all zeros for a long while, but have added several fish and started feeding more. Tank has been up several years.

Anyhow, I had a wake up call due to my "lack of interest". I did a water change and forgot to turn the ATO back on. I didn't even check until 6 days later when the return was blowing air. I was 6-7 gallons low, salinity was a bit high. I didn't lose much, am urchin and serpent star but enough to kick my butt into gear.

I bought a used Icecap turf scrubber (medium). I got 3 urchins and some snails. I am going to get back into regular testing as well.

The ATS has been running for 5 days now. It is already showing good growth. I am hopeful and will keep going. Just wanted to get it off my chest! Pics are 2.5 weeks growth since last tank scrub.

20240226_203033.jpg
20240226_203041.jpg
20240224_214024.jpg
20240228_215339.jpg
20240228_215352.jpg

buruskeee

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Have you thought about grabbing a sea hare or two? They work wonders on GHA. Also run blues until the GHA is under control to hamper its growth.

OP
OP
Coach v

Coach v

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Tank tonight. I scrubbed rock 2 nights ago. I lost a flow pump this past weekend that I need to replace.

I run mostly blues, just white up for pics.