My new 17 gallon tank

vayne

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone. I am new to this marvellous world of saltwater tanks. I acquired 2 months ago a nano tank, around 17 gallons. Got my tools ready, bout the sand, Caribbean life rock, filter, skimmer and a wave maker as well.

This is the tank currently. I have been running it for around 3 weeks, give or take few days.

Equipment

Lightning: Prime 16HD
Filter: Comline 3162 - Tunze
Skimmer: Comline DOC Skimmer 9001
Wavemaker: Jebao slw 10

I have tested it for NO2, pH, NO3, NH4 so far.

pH: 8,0
NO2: <0,01
NO3: 1
NO4: <0,05
Temp: 80.6 °F
Salinity: 1.026

Is this enough, or I should run any other testes, make perhaps some changes to these values?

For livestock, I plan on getting two clowns, a cleaning crew, and a shrimp so far. I am rather scared of adding corals thus far, since I have zero experience.

20220215_180845.jpg

blaxsun

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You can skip No2 and No4. I'd probably invest in one of those Seachem Ammonia Alert badges (they just stick on the inside of the tank). Po4 phosphates is really the only other test you need. If you stay on top of water changes (10% every 2 weeks) you'll typically replenish your alkalinity, calcium and magnesium (which are really only important for corals).

Corals really aren't as insidious to maintain as the impression can sometimes be. If you stay on top of water changes, routine testing is really the only thing you need to do (Ca, Mg and Kh tests are needed if you get into corals). You've pretty much got everything you need.

Just remember the most important rule for corals: Buy what you can afford to replace. ;)

Reeferjunkie

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to r2r and looks like You have a great start and found the best place to be.

OP
OP
vayne

vayne

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0