Neptune Apex variable output programming challenge

richarddeweerd

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 22, 2020
Messages
195
Reaction score
370
Location
The Netherlands
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have my return pump controlled by a variable output and so far that works great.

It is running at 60% and during the feed cycle I run it slower 30%
Is it possible that after the feed cycle the pump runs at 100% for a minute and after that it goes back to 60%?
Because it would fill up my overflow quicker.
 

SuncrestReef

That Apex guy
View Badges
Joined
Jan 18, 2018
Messages
4,214
Reaction score
9,217
Location
Oregon
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
This can be done by overlapping two If Feed commands with different delays:

Fallback 60
Set 60
If FeedA 001 Then 100
If FeedA 000 Then 30

Because the Apex evaluates each line of code top to bottom and only applies the last True command, both of the If FeedA commands are True while the Feed timer is still counting down, so the 30% will be applied. Once the Feed timer expires only the If FeedA 001 command is True so the 100% is applied for 1 minute. Once that timer expires, the normal programming resumes to 60%. The order of the If FeedA commands is important.
 
OP
OP
richarddeweerd

richarddeweerd

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 22, 2020
Messages
195
Reaction score
370
Location
The Netherlands
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
it works! but 'the 100% flow had a negative side effect that my emergency drain was running and there for some food was passing the filter socks.

So now after the feed cycle I'm going straight back to the normal flow
 

xrouter

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 15, 2020
Messages
93
Reaction score
155
Location
UK
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have my return pump controlled by a variable output and so far that works great.

Sorry to thread hijack but how are you doing this? I have a flow meter on my return and a core 15 so I want to vary the pump speed to match a flow rate because I have manifold which I vary and end up having to tweak pump speed all the time to maintain the flow.
 

Delloman

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 22, 2021
Messages
89
Reaction score
69
Location
Atlanta
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Trying to do this as well and I am getting error on line 5 expected on or off

fallback 60
Set 60
If Output Vfeed = 000 Then 30
If Output Vfeed = 200 Then 100
If FeedA 500 Then 100
If FeedA 000 Then 30
If FeedB 200 Then 100
If FeedB 000 Then 30
If FeedC 200 Then 100
If FeedC 000 Then 30
If FeedD 200 Then 100
If FeedD 000 Then 30
 

GK3

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 16, 2017
Messages
1,852
Reaction score
1,339
Location
Cincinnati
Rating - 100%
2   0   0
Trying to do this as well and I am getting error on line 5 expected on or off

fallback 60
Set 60
If Output Vfeed = 000 Then 30
If Output Vfeed = 200 Then 100
If FeedA 500 Then 100
If FeedA 000 Then 30
If FeedB 200 Then 100
If FeedB 000 Then 30
If FeedC 200 Then 100
If FeedC 000 Then 30
If FeedD 200 Then 100
If FeedD 000 Then 30
What is vfeed?
 

GK3

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 16, 2017
Messages
1,852
Reaction score
1,339
Location
Cincinnati
Rating - 100%
2   0   0
Trying to do this as well and I am getting error on line 5 expected on or off

fallback 60
Set 60
If Output Vfeed = 000 Then 30
If Output Vfeed = 200 Then 100
If FeedA 500 Then 100
If FeedA 000 Then 30
If FeedB 200 Then 100
If FeedB 000 Then 30
If FeedC 200 Then 100
If FeedC 000 Then 30
If FeedD 200 Then 100
If FeedD 000 Then 30
So vfeed is a virtual outlet, you can’t use =000. It’s output vfeed = on then or = off then.
 

High pressure shells: Do you look for signs of stress in the invertebrates in your reef tank?

  • I regularly look for signs of invertebrate stress in my reef tank.

    Votes: 22 38.6%
  • I occasionally look for signs of invertebrate stress in my reef tank.

    Votes: 13 22.8%
  • I rarely look for signs of invertebrate stress in my reef tank.

    Votes: 11 19.3%
  • I never look for signs of invertebrate stress in my reef tank.

    Votes: 11 19.3%
  • Other.

    Votes: 0 0.0%
Back
Top