neptune FMM failed to stop pump from topping up

David Cher

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 8, 2016
Messages
851
Reaction score
156
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
neptune FMM failed to stop pump from topping up .

i just replaced the fmm yesterday with a brand new one from the box as the old one kept getting clicking sound

everytime it starts running , it failed to stop and keep topping up fresh water resulting in the hi alert kept popping up .

here is the code for the pmup pump

Fallback OFF
Set OFF
If ATK_LO OPEN Then ON
If ATK_HI CLOSED Then OFF
If Leak CLOSED Then OFF
When On > 001:00 Then OFF
Defer 000:02 Then OFF
Defer 000:30 Then ON
Min Time 060:00 Then OFF

here is the code for the email alert :

Set OFF
If ATK_HI CLOSED Then ON
If Leak CLOSED Then ON
If ATK_HI CLOSED Then ON
If Leak CLOSED Then ON
If FeedC 010 Then OFF
If Output Skimmer = OFF Then OFF
If Output ReturnL1 = OFF Then OFF
If Error Top_off Then ON
Defer 000:20 Then ON
 

SuncrestReef

That Apex guy
View Badges
Joined
Jan 18, 2018
Messages
4,214
Reaction score
9,217
Location
Oregon
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have two thoughts:

1. Did you follow the troubleshooting steps in my ATK tutorial to test if the ATK_LO and ATK_HI sensors are reporting properly when wet and dry?

2. Since you swapped out your FMM, it's possible the sensor names in your programming are referring to the old module's ports, but the new FMM ports have different names. Go into your System View and expand the FMM module to identify the current sensor names. Does the old FMM still show up? If so, you should delete it from the list of Modules.
Screen Shot 2021-01-29 at 7.49.15 PM.png
 
OP
OP
D

David Cher

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 8, 2016
Messages
851
Reaction score
156
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I deleted the old module so there is no old ports in the system
 
OP
OP
D

David Cher

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 8, 2016
Messages
851
Reaction score
156
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I deleted the old module so there is no old ports in the system
 
OP
OP
D

David Cher

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 8, 2016
Messages
851
Reaction score
156
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
the funny thing is that even when the ATK_LO the pump is still turning on and it kept topping up to ATK_HI not sure why

i changed the optical sensor
 

Sablah

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 19, 2020
Messages
106
Reaction score
78
Location
Orlando
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Doea this issue occur when using the old FMM? Are you plugging the pmup into the FMM or eb832? After it starts filling, at what point does ATK_LO show closed in the dashboard?
 
OP
OP
D

David Cher

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 8, 2016
Messages
851
Reaction score
156
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I plug the pump to fmm . It kept topping up even though it still showing lo on the dashboard
 

Sablah

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 19, 2020
Messages
106
Reaction score
78
Location
Orlando
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I plug the pump to fmm . It kept topping up even though it still showing lo on the dashboard
Did you update the new FMM module's firmware?

If so, double check your port names are correct and the right sensors are connected to the right ports. I highly suspect its a configuration issue. If all sensors are reporting correctly, and apex shuts off the pump based on the ATK_HI sensor, then there doesn't seem to be a hardware issue. I would recommend testing it without any "defer", "when", or "min time" statements. Only have "set", "fallback", and "if" statements in the code.

For easier testing, you can unhook the sensors from the mounting bracket and manually trigger then by dipping them in water.
 
OP
OP
D

David Cher

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 8, 2016
Messages
851
Reaction score
156
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Fallback OFF
Set OFF
If ATK_LO OPEN Then ON

on the dashboard ATK_LO is in closed state , the pmup is running

some thing is wrong .i already rebooted the whole apex and still the same issue
 

Sablah

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 19, 2020
Messages
106
Reaction score
78
Location
Orlando
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Just to clarify, the pmup only starts running when ATK_LO switches from CLOSED to OPEN, and the pmup does not turn off until ATK_HI is closed, even if ATK_LO switches back to closed?

If so, what happened when you switch the optical sensor ports (so LO become HI and vice-versa? )
 
OP
OP
D

David Cher

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 8, 2016
Messages
851
Reaction score
156
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If ATK_LO OPEN Then ON

it should run when it is open and stop when it is closed , now what is happening is the pmup is running even when it is showing closed
 

SuncrestReef

That Apex guy
View Badges
Joined
Jan 18, 2018
Messages
4,214
Reaction score
9,217
Location
Oregon
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Whenever an Apex appears to not follow the programming, the first thing I check for is any duplicate names. Please go through your list of Inputs, Outputs, Modules, and Profiles to ensure there are no duplicates. The Apex doesn't block you from naming multiple items with the same name, but if you do have duplicates it can malfunction in unexplained ways.

If you find any duplicate, rename it and then reboot the Apex to reload the corrected configuration.
 
OP
OP
D

David Cher

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 8, 2016
Messages
851
Reaction score
156
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
here is what i have done

1. i have replaced with a brand new of the box - FMM
2. changed the cables - connecting cable , optical sensors- both
3. set every back to auto detect
4. rebooted the whole apex system
5. moved the optical sensor up and down and they are responding normally
6. updated the software again
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2021-01-31 at 9.28.34 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2021-01-31 at 9.28.34 AM.png
    102.3 KB · Views: 35

Sablah

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 19, 2020
Messages
106
Reaction score
78
Location
Orlando
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
This is fairly perplexing. What triggers the PMUP to turn on? Does it correspond to when ATK_LO opens, when ATK_HI opens, or will it always run independently of the status of ATK_LO and will turn on once the "Min Time" has elapsed?
 
OP
OP
D

David Cher

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 8, 2016
Messages
851
Reaction score
156
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
i think some thing have changed on apex end as i did not change anything and did not touch anything on configuration

check this video , the water level is already so high and yet the pmup is still triggering with on those statements i posted above
 

Attachments

  • IMG_7584.m4v
    11.3 MB
OP
OP
D

David Cher

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 8, 2016
Messages
851
Reaction score
156
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
and this is the email i kept getting

Status: OFF
Statement: Error on Top_off
Date: 2021-01-31 11:12:47 +0800

 

MarshallB

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 29, 2019
Messages
438
Reaction score
595
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
This is the default code mine automatically set up. Only thing I added was the max run time and the sensor for my RO water Res. Looks like the sensors are backwards in your code. However, I still don't see why your code wouldn't work. Have you noticed if it stays on for longer than 1 minute at a time?


Fallback OFF
Set OFF
If ATK_H OPEN Then ON
If ATK_L CLOSED Then OFF
If ROLow OPEN Then OFF
When On > 005:00 Then OFF
Defer 000:10 Then ON
Defer 000:04 Then OFF
Min Time 120:00 Then OFF
 
OP
OP
D

David Cher

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 8, 2016
Messages
851
Reaction score
156
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
This is the default code mine automatically set up. Only thing I added was the max run time and the sensor for my RO water Res. Looks like the sensors are backwards in your code. However, I still don't see why your code wouldn't work. Have you noticed if it stays on for longer than 1 minute at a time?


Fallback OFF
Set OFF
If ATK_H OPEN Then ON
If ATK_L CLOSED Then OFF
If ROLow OPEN Then OFF
When On > 005:00 Then OFF
Defer 000:10 Then ON
Defer 000:04 Then OFF
Min Time 120:00 Then OFF

i tried to run the task and this is what is configured for me

Fallback OFF
Set OFF
If ATK_LO OPEN Then ON
If ATK_HI CLOSED Then OFF
When On > 005:00 Then OFF
Defer 000:10 Then ON
Defer 000:04 Then OFF
Min Time 060:00 Then OFF
 

Reefing threads: Do you wear gear from reef brands?

  • I wear reef gear everywhere.

    Votes: 7 15.2%
  • I wear reef gear primarily at fish events and my LFS.

    Votes: 2 4.3%
  • I wear reef gear primarily for water changes and tank maintenance.

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • I wear reef gear primarily to relax where I live.

    Votes: 7 15.2%
  • I don’t wear gear from reef brands.

    Votes: 28 60.9%
  • Other.

    Votes: 2 4.3%
Back
Top