New Camera Purchase Advice - Much Needed, Greatly Apperciated

reefhead

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am finally going to invest a little money into getting a "nicer" camera.

Background:
The major use for this camera will be to take pics of my coral which is lit by AI Sols
I will be taking close up macro shots
I have only used DSLR at store. I have no experience with one but have nothing against taking the time to learn.

Dilemma:
Trying to decide between a bridge camera (Canon SX40) or actual DSLR. Any advice?
Also, if DSLR what is a good entry level model for my application?
What are some accessories that will enable me to take great photos like the ones I see on r2r (besides lots of practice)

Thanks everyone!

revhtree

Owner Administrator
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Honestly you could get you an older model DSLR or even buy a refurbished one from a well known company and save money for the lens. That is where your expense will be if you want to take nice macro photos. I hate to point this out all the time but these shots were taken with a Canon Rebel XT (old) and a Canon 100mm Macro.

Rockin Reef | SmugMug

Of course if you have the means to get a better DSLR then do that as well.

BarbH

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0