new Nano Tank Questions

brad35309

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello all, I'm new to R2R, but have a little experience with saltwater. i ran a bio-cube for 3 years and a couple nano tanks for about a half a year.

I Recently bought an Aqua Top recife 24g AIO Tank Setup. I’ve Been running it for about a week now, with just the Water, sand and dry/live rock. I do have a few concerns though, all mostly dealing with the stock overflow setup. I’m wondering if I am doing something wrong, or if I really need to modify the way its functioning.

- My first issue’s are with the return setup. The hole where the 90° angle pipe leaves this chamber to output back into the tank is loose, so much that there is a slow leak seeping back into this segment of the overflow. It’s not a huge trickle, but I would rather have this tidey’d up. I bought it at a local pet store and I couldn’t find a parts list for it, so I’m not sure if I didn’t get a “Gasket” or if it just doesn’t have one. I’m wondering if someone could recommend something to use as a gasket in a marine environment. I don’t want to use silicone, as I’d like to be able to remove it for maintenance. Secondly, the return tube from the pump seems a bit short, its floating ¾ from the bottom of the chamber, only being supported by the tube and the 90° connector into the back wall. Should I get a longer pipe, or is this okay?