New Tank & Bulkhead size?

fishstix

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I just had my new tank delivered today, it was custom drilled returns on the back, they were suppose to be 1" sch 80, all plumbing was in box when they delivered it.

I have never used sch 80 bulkheads before. How lose are they, seem to have a lot of play in them, around the sides that is. Where as when I have used sch 40 in the past they fit snug. I happen to have some 1 1/4 bulkheads sitting around abs sch 40 sitting around, and they fit the holes perfect. Snug but not too tight, I am wondering if they place that drilled the holes messed up.

For those that have used sch 80 bulkheads how much room should I have for the bulkhead to be free moving?

Thanks

dugthefish

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Sloppy dont sound right to me. I'd use the 1.25" for a closer fit.

cromag27

octoaquatics.com - ig = @octoaquatics. view my sig
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I just had my new tank delivered today, it was custom drilled returns on the back, they were suppose to be 1" sch 80, all plumbing was in box when they delivered it.

I have never used sch 80 bulkheads before. How lose are they, seem to have a lot of play in them, around the sides that is. Where as when I have used sch 40 in the past they fit snug. I happen to have some 1 1/4 bulkheads sitting around abs sch 40 sitting around, and they fit the holes perfect. Snug but not too tight, I am wondering if they place that drilled the holes messed up.

For those that have used sch 80 bulkheads how much room should I have for the bulkhead to be free moving?

Thanks

both sch 40 and 80 should have some play and should not be snug. did you measure the hole opening?

Dr. Dendrostein

Marine fish monthly
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0

Thanks
Good reason for price adjustment . Did you pay with CC?

OP
OP
F

fishstix

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0