New to R2R, Hello!

Dustinc1983

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello!

My name is Dustin from Denver, Colorado. I am a newbie into reefing but I love everything about it! I spend a lot time on YouTube learning and drooling but I thought joining a forum would be great! I would love some feedback, help, direction and thoughts. I may not be 1o0% on terminology yet so be gentle...

I have a basic set up that's been up and running for 15 months. 20 gallon tall tank, Orbit Marine LED current USA 24", Eheim 100w heater (77 degrees), Fluval (Aquaclear 50) filter running floss and chemipure elite and a bag of biomax media, as well a hydor Nano 425 powerhead.

I do 2.5 gallons of water change a week, I buy my water premixed at my local reef store (Elite Reef) and they use Kent salt premix. I top off with RO Water which I purchase as well. Regular basic testing for Phosphate, Ammonia, Nitrate, Nitrite, pH, Alk and Calcium and Salinity with a cheap Amazon refractometer. Always within limits and stability.

I have about 17 pounds of liverock and 15 pounds of sand (Oolite; which I regret). Currently stocked with a six line wrasse, lemon damsel and a two striped damsel (another regret). I have a cleaner shrimp and some various CUC inverts and a sand sifting star (is this another regret?) I had two snowflake clowns that lived 8 months and one day died... odd? I won't replace until I move on from the damsels..

I also have some simple softies and LPS healthy corals. 3 head Duncan coral, Frogspawn which has turned into two (heads?) a Zoa rock with 20 polyps or so, and a Kenya tree coral that has grown large and since shed some branches and growing on my live rock in various locations.