New to Reefing - Information Overload

Derek Claxton

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Good day reefers!

I am new to reefing. As in, I don't even have a salt tank set up yet. I am a meticulous researcher before getting involved in all things new.

I have been keeping freshwater for a couple of years now. I have always been hesitant to get into salt, as I have been told it's super time consuming and costly. However, I recently watching a Marine Depot video on a "budget" nano tank. It got me very interested.

I have been inundated with information and possibly bad information. I came here for your advice and interaction.

Is a 10 gal AIO nano tank appropriate for a 1st timer if I am diligent in monitoring and maintaining it??

Thank you for your time,
Derek

Crabs McJones

I'm so shi-nay
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to R2R! There is alot of information out there. I would suggest checking out these threads to get you started :)
As long as you stay on top of your parameters, a 10 gallon tank would be good :)
Larger tanks tend to have less parameter swings, but unless you're getting into SPS corals, you should be fine :)
Starting A Saltwater Aquarium
Cycling an Aquarium
Acclimation and Quarantine
ezgif-2-394453e035e8.gif
#WelcometoR2R

HotRocks

Fish Fanatic!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to R2R!!!
10 gallon is small. Small = harder to keep parameters in check with much less room for error. Just my opinion.

Wish you the best of luck in whatever you decide to do and this is a great place with tons of great people and info!!!

Ruben's Reef

Ruben's Reef
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0