New to Reefing

Neem_OH

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey all,

Thanks for having me, long time follower and first time member. Ive been setup since last december and still adding on as I progress. I have a 150g DT with a 40g breeder sump with a triton baffle kit. Check out the pics and feel free to critique as I am a newb wanting to learn. Eventually when the tank is established enough i would like to grow coral.

Again thanks for having me!

20220416_094623.jpg 20220416_094633.jpg 20220506_065913.jpg 20220425_172515.jpg

OP
OP
N

Neem_OH

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thanks guys, i changed my lighting to the 3 vipar 165w and i think that may have started an algae bloom so ive been tampering with the light intensity and duration. Also struggling to grow chaeto in the fuge but i think its due to competition/lack of phosphates? Still narrowing things down.

Dom

Full Time Reef Keeper
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thanks guys, i changed my lighting to the 3 vipar 165w and i think that may have started an algae bloom so ive been tampering with the light intensity and duration. Also struggling to grow chaeto in the fuge but i think its due to competition/lack of phosphates? Still narrowing things down.

Love your setup. May I ask; what are the dimensions of your tank?

Personally, I don't concern myself with a lack of chaeto growth.

We place Chaetomorpha (or other macro algae) into our refugium as a means of nutrient export. The Chaeto feeds on the nutrients in the water column, leaving little, if any left for algae to grow in the display.

In my opinion, little to no growth of Chaetomorpha means low nutrient levels in the tank.

OP
OP
N

Neem_OH

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Love your setup. May I ask; what are the dimensions of your tank?

Personally, I don't concern myself with a lack of chaeto growth.