New to Saltwater and New to R2R and thought I would say hi

LDswims

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi there. I thought I would jump in somewhere and give my background as well as lack of knowledge or history :):downcast-face-with-sweat:.

I am new to saltwater. I have had my tank up and running for 6 weeks now. I was running two freshwater tanks and have had tanks off and on since I was 5. From the age of 7 my dad had me maintaining the fish tank and even our pool, running all the tests, cleaning, adjusting parameters, etc. Through adulthood (whatever that is), I've continued. All with freshwater.

So. Here I am. 6 weeks into my saltwater tank. I converted a 20gal tank....meaning I moved what was in there to my other freshwater tank then drained and cleaned the tank. Added live sand, live rock, and about 17 gallons of prepared water purchased from LFS. Let that run for 3 weeks. Parameters showed a basic cycle had begun. Went to my LFS, who I trusted completely (foolish move, in retrospect). Bought two clownfish, a bubble tip anemone, and a tiger conch. Added them. Clownfish had been paired previously and had also bonded with the BTA. They were sooooo cute upon adding them to my tiny tank...the clownfish worried about the BTA so much! Over the next day the BTA moved himself to my rocks. He was hanging upside down-ish from an overhang and he seemed to be fine. Other than I worried about how much light he was getting from my dinky white LED light since he was upside down-ish under an overhand. Knowing what I know now, I also wonder if he was actually able to catch food, since he was upside down-ish and all.