New to saltwater - looking for help with a seahorse tank

itgoeson

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi! I have a little planted freshwater pea puffer tank that I really love, and I’m preparing to start a seahorse tank. I’m totally new to saltwater, and I’d really love some advice on how best to get started. I have done some research on basic requirements, but I’m a bit lost on what to actually buy.

I intend to keep:
- A pair of h. erectus seahorses
- A goby (possibly with a pistol shrimp?)
- TBD invert cleanup crew
- Macro algae for hitching posts
- Later on, some gorgonian coral for hitching posts

Key requirements (beside the obvious heater etc):
- 30-45 gallon tank at least 18” tall
- Protein skimmer
- Live rock, roughly 30-40 pounds
- 1” of live sand
- LED light that can support gorgonian coral
- Must look “nice” and modern, ideally a rimless cube

I’m trying to decide between an AIO like the Red Sea Max or a sump setup like the Reefer. My freshwater tank is a Fluval AIO and I love it, but I’m not sure if a sump is going to make a saltwater tank easier to maintain or easier to find equipment that works and fits.

I'm also trying to decide if I should get a high quality used tank (the ones I’ve looked at have been scratched pretty badly or otherwise in poor condition), a lower quality new tank (like an Aquatop AIO or even a Coralife Biocube), or just bite the bullet and get a new Waterbox or Red Sea.

Any and all advice welcome!

Big G

captain dunsel
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Screen Shot 2019-03-21 at 1.11.16 PM.png

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
14   0   0
Firstly, welcome to the R2R community. A few things to keep in mind as you set up the new environment for your ponies.