New to saltwater what size tank should i start with?

Saltyhigginslakeguy

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone. I am new to saltwater world. I have be in freshwater for years, then I got out of it for a bit. So here in about a year I should be financially ready to start up a tank. So everybody please be ready for a plethora of questions from me. Haha.. So here is my 1st question.. What size tank should I start with? I am looking at the waterbox 100.3. It is a 80 gal display.

Peace River

Thrive Master
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Welcome to Reef2Reef!!! There are many different opinions on the answer to your question. Many will say the bigger the better. IMO, the upper end of the 40 gallon - 125 gallon range is a good place to start (if you can reasonably afford it). Don't forget to put a strong consideration on what works for you, your budget, your life, etc. Good luck on whatever you choose!

Clownfish.gif

Kristopher Conlin

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to Reef2Reef!!!

I would take a look at what type of fish you want to keep. If there is anything specific you really want try to get a tank big enough for them. For instance I really want a sailfin tang and they require a tank around 180 gallons at full size.

OP
OP
Saltyhigginslakeguy

Saltyhigginslakeguy

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to Reef2Reef!!!

I would take a look at what type of fish you want to keep. If there is anything specific you really want try to get a tank big enough for them. For instance I really want a sailfin tang and they require a tank around 180 gallons at full size.
Hello, I am going for a mix reef. So Fish will be thought out around the coral 1st. Low to mid livestock. It all about the coral for me. Lol

Cichlid Dad

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0

00W

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0