Newb seeking help about heaters

DeadEnd

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey,

I am new to the hobbie and I have been investigating and reading about heaters the entire day but I can't make up my mind to which heater brand to buy. Everytime I search for a heater / controller brand I stumble on an horror story of how someone lost their tank...

I am planning to buy 2x300 watts heaters each with its own controller for my 150 gallon tank (my room temperature ranges from 70 to 74).

But now the the hard part... Which heater brand should I buy? I have read about Inkbird, Hygger, Helio Universal and PTC (haven't found any good or bad comments about their universal controller), etc.

Anyone wanna help me with this hard choice? (for me)

Thanks

Jekyl

GSP is the devil and clowns are bad pets
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Eheim and ink bird. You only need 1 controller for 2 heaters. Just make sure they will fit in the area you want, they're pretty long. I recommend buying 3 of them. The last you'll use for water changes and as a spare. My tank is 5 years in on same controller and 1 heater replacement.

EricR

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Budget?

You're already planning on two heaters so that covers redundancy for one failing OFF.

Worse would be one failing ON so just make sure you have a secondary shut off if temp gets HIGH.

I'm cheap so I do this but not what I'd call best possible:
- 2x Eheim Jager TruTemp heaters -- pretty cheap and I just let them regulate the temperature
- InkBird ITC-306T to monitor temperature and just shut OFF the heaters if temp gets high (((cheapest InkBird at about $25-$30)))

OP
OP
DeadEnd

DeadEnd

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Budget?

You're already planning on two heaters so that covers redundancy for one failing OFF.

Worse would be one failing ON so just make sure you have a secondary shut off if temp gets HIGH.