Newbi Question Live Rock

TnFishwater98

Drink more fishwater there! And I still want more!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Just got some new live rock.. Should I remove all growth I see on the rock? Or will the Hermit crabs eat the dead material?
Thanks BD

IMG_2034.JPG

IMG_2035.JPG

IMG_2036.JPG

landlubber

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
you should absolutely clean it and cure it in a tub for a few weeks before introducing it to your tank. i made this mistake when i started and it's been almost 2 years of unnecessary challenges with algaes.

OP
OP
TnFishwater98

TnFishwater98

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If you do all what you say.. How are you able to add possible good hitchhikers to your tank? Also it's new tank added live rock from the start (I didn't quarantine rock during cycle) and only have 1 fish and a bakers dozen Hermits ...I would appreciate your opinion because like the post title reads I'm new to having a saltwater aquirium.
Thanks
BD

JOKER

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What live rock do you have? Its odd for live rock to be white. I would definitely watch for bad hitchhikers.

OP
OP
TnFishwater98

TnFishwater98

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
D
you should absolutely clean it and cure it in a tub for a few weeks before introducing it to your tank. i made this mistake when i started and it's been almost 2 years of unnecessary challenges with algaes.
dedrddd5
What live rock do you have? Its odd for live rock to be white. I would definitely watch for bad hitchhikers.

The new white rock is Fiji Tonga I believe..

Bryn

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi TnFishwater98,