Newbie who rushed a bit. Tail between my legs. Looking for advice on closed polyps and brown algae.

JasonG1

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm new to the hobby, hoping for advice, and wondering why my Green Star Polyp hasn't opened in 2 days and if the brown growth shown in the pics is a "safe" nuisance algae.

I sadly admit that I rushed like I said I wouldn't. I understand if folks don't want to help since I rushed.

My tank started with 2 clowns and Dr. Tim's to cycle. 20% water changes were done every few days to keep Ammonia and Nitrite as low as reasonable. After 2 weeks, I had 0 Ammonia, 0 Nitrite, and 1 Nitrate so I added a six-line wrasse, yellow clown goby, and magenta dottyback...still doing 20% water changes every 3-4 days with RODI & Aquaforest carefully measuring SG. I knew I should probably only add 1 fish at a time, but the LFS guy told me in a tank my size, these 3 little guys would be fine (I'm suspicious) and my children were hassling me. A week later, I added a piece of green star polyp and 4 small hermit crabs. I realized adding the green star polyps meant I need to turn on my AI Prime (which I thought I'd leave off [or very low] for months). Well now with the lights on...why not add 1 zoa (which I did on Saturday 6/3/23). I noticed about that same time that some brown algae was forming on the tops of the rocks and sand bed directly under the light. So I reduced the intensities on the AI Prime channels...~20% down to ~15% and reduced the hours per day from 11 to 8 (also too much too fast I think). Also, I saw Nitrites increasing over the last week (but 0 ppm Ammonia), so did (3) 20% water changes over 1 week, and may have found the source of the Nitrite spike on this new tank...a dead hermit crab.

All fish appear healthy and hungry. Here are my issues: