Newbie, with no tank, reef or plumbing experience seeks.....help. Lots of help, please!

StaceysReef

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi there,
As the thread title suggests, I am brand new to the hobby and would love some advice! I purchased a Red Sea Reefer 170 and I think I have all the necessary parts to get started, but I need help with how to put it all together.
So, the equipment that I have so far includes:
Bubble Magus 3.5 Skimmer - I think this one is pretty straight forward, so no help needed there :)
2LittleFishies Phosban Reactor - I plan to run this with a small Lifeguard pump, again I think I have this one figured out too.... currently I just have clear vinyl tubing going to and from the reactor - any suggestions on something better to use, & where to get it? I hear the clear vinyl is prone to algae growth.
Sicce Syncra Silent return pump - if all I have to do is connect this with the return line, we're golden.... if on the other hand the recommendation is to run the UV sterilizer off the pump and back through the return... I will need a hand, see below :)
Aqua Ultraviolet Advantage UV Sterilizer - this is where I'm running into issues.... what are your suggestions for where/how to plumb it? Before the skimmer, after the skimmer, from the return pump through to the return line? I'm also not sure if I should try and hang it in a vertical, or horizontal orientation? Also, what the heck do I secure it with. It doesn't seem to have come with anything to attach it to the cabinet, so I'm not even sure where to begin.

Last but not least, I can't seem to find any of the plastic hose clamps locally, so I have purchased the stainless steel ones, I know they aren't ideal, but is there a reason that I absolutely shouldn't use them??

Thank-you, thank-you to everyone who has been there before in this hobby, and are so willing to help us newbies out. I am thrilled to finally be getting into this hobby and can't wait to see what my reef turns into!