nitrates

reef4life!!!

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all,i am new at reef2reef and i am so glad i joined the group...The main reason i joined was because i seriously need help in order to make my tank look like it supposed to be..My plan is to make my fish-only tank into a beautiful reef and i could really need some help.Lately i've been reading a lot about everything it should be done,i read about nitrogen cycle,how to lower nitrates,where my levels should be atc...so i have a 250litre tank with fish-only and its been running for about 5 years...unfortunately my father got the tank when i was too young and i couldn't actually help my tank thrive(or at least be in a good level)...So far my tank its been running with very low maintenance but i decided that it's time to get serious with the tank...I recently bought 1 wavemaker and salifer test kits for phosphates and nitrates and last week i checked my nitrates and phosphates after 5 years(yeah i know it is very long time)and the results was terrible,my nitrates was between 50-100 ppm and my phosphate was about 3...i did a water change of 80 liters and my phosphates got a little bit down but my nitrates didn't really seem to move...yesterday i added carbon and antiphosphate to help my tank get to the right way and i will keep weekly changes of 50-60 litres until i see something encouraging with my nitrates and phosphates...

Sorry for the big article :),i will have many questions in the future and i hope i get my answers :)!!!
i am really excited about the journey called reefing and i really hope i will make it!

Lasse

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
How does your tank look like? Serve algae problems or does it looks good?

You have a FO tank and neither your PO4 or you NO3 concentrations will harm your fish. If the tank look good - do not do any drastic changes. Have there been WC during these 5 years?

Sincerely Lasse

cbrack83

View Badges
Reaction score