Noobie with a Biocube

BlackFish

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello all! Noob here, I just got a new Coralife Biocube 29. I'm going to do minor upgrades for now, as in upgrading the pump, adding a protein skimmer(not the cheap Coralife one), removing the bio balls and replacing them with a media basket and refugium. I'm keeping the stock 10k white/actinic fluorescents lights until I save up money to upgrade to LED. So my question is what corals would I be able to keep under the stock lights? And any suggestions on media?
Thanks for the advice.

Retro Reefer

Slow and steady wins the race!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to the forum.. I have a BC 14 stock with coralife upgrades, skimmer and UV running stock lighting.. I have insane coral growth so stock system will work just fine, I am upgrading to LED's because of heat and cost of PC bulb replacement in the next couple weeks.

OP
OP
BlackFish

BlackFish

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to the forum.. I have a BC 14 stock with coralife upgrades, skimmer and UV running stock lighting.. I have insane coral growth so stock system will work just fine, I am upgrading to LED's because of heat and cost of PC bulb replacement in the next couple weeks.

What corals are you keeping? Heat is also a reason I want to upgrade. What LEDs are you going to get?

Retro Reefer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What corals are you keeping? Heat is also a reason I want to upgrade. What LEDs are you going to get?

I have everything.. SPS, LPS, softy's, Zoa's you name it.. lol. Going with nanobox retro for LED's

image.jpeg

Retro Reefer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Wow, looks nice. I'm glade to see the success with the stock lights. Did you buy the extra plug-in LED strips for the stock hood?