not alot of flesh on new torch, splitting or not doing good?

joeg123

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
photo taken while lights are out so its closed up and sucked in, I've had it for 4 days now and everyday it's extending a little more and a little more but not fully, it doesn't seem as happy as my other torches and defo doesn't have as much flesh, I'm new to the hobby so just wondering if it could have anything to do with splitting? will post a pic later once lights are on of what it looks like
thumbnail_original-C039CC66-3801-4A8B-AE50-48B5F3326595.jpg

what it was like when I got it (4 days ago)

thumbnail_processed-10572A81-51C1-454C-B594-4025D7CB122B-411421AA-C8E9-4CF4-8653-BBFB80070562.jpg

Stealthreefer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
it looks like it's been getting too much flow for a while.
It could be splitting but either way it needs to get a break from too much flow.

OP
OP
J

joeg123

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
it looks like it's been getting too much flow for a while.
It could be splitting but either way it needs to get a break from too much flow.
I've struggled with getting the flow right to keep everything happy while also making detritus etc float into the overflow, its a 20 gallon waterbox and I've got a nero 5

lights have just come on, I've turned down the flow and moved the wavemaker, too much flow still?

Dburr1014

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Flow looks okay.

Looks like it is just about done splitting.
Also, you are correct, flesh is missing. This is not your fault as you have only had it for 4 days. It is really receded. Give it the best water quality you can, best best flow and lighting you can. Do you know you par number?

OP
OP
J

joeg123

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Flow looks okay.

Looks like it is just about done splitting.