Odd breathing?

rtrdeuce

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello, all. I want to preface this in saying I am very new to the hobby and would like another set of eyes and opinions on if I am experiencing a larger issue. Currently in the tank are various CUC, two clowns, a Melanarus, McCosker's, Ruby Finned, Banggai Cardinal, a one-eyed firefish (got him that way), and a diamond goby. I appear to be in various stages of the "uglies", though I now make my own rodi water and mix my own salt. The tank is a 75g. All tests are conducted with API, salt is measured with a cheap refractometer from petco, phosphate and alkalinity with a hanna checker.

Ammonia 0
Nitrite 0
Nitrate appears to be between 5.0 and 10 ppm
Salt is at 35 ppm
Temp is set at 78 +/- 1 with an inkbird
Ph unsure but I made custom screen lids for gas exchange, a 850gph powerhead is disrupting the surface as well
phosphate, alkalinity are all within an acceptable range based on what I've read here.

Noticing weird breathing habits the past couple of days. I know that wrasse are prone to "yawning" as a sign of aggression, but I've seen the firefish "yawn" and the goby as well. One clownfish acts like there is an issue, constantly at the surface in the corner of the tank, comes out in the tank to feed, but usually spits everything out (has refused bloodworms and reef frenzy). In addition, neither of the clowns will take flakes. I am unsure if that is just "clowns being clowns" or the warning signs of a major issue. She also seems to really hate the flow and comes out more when I cut the powerhead off for water changes etc. Attached are my best attempts at video capturing the ruby fin who seems to be laboring more than the others, though her appetite is in check. I have noticed what I consider to be a "white-stringy poop", though I'm unsure who it came from, as I understand it, clowns can produce that with no issues present. Isn't all fish waste stringy, anyway?