One spot foxface a bad idea ?

Murphs_reef

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hard to say from the videos but mine was very sheepish for weeks when it arrived. Full camo and sat in the strangest places. He wouldn't eat a thing either.

Maybe just taking it's time to adjust but if it is floating at the surface and not just trying to hide, It might be sick.

Gill the 3rd

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
This fish is either really weird or ill. Last night it lied on the ground to sleep, in full stress colors. I thought it was going to die during the night.

This morning before lights are on I find it floating at the surface, in a corner. I thought it was dead. I gently touched it and it started swimming slowly along the side glass. I fed it but I don’t think it ate.

Then for a good 20 minutes it followed the pajama cardinal around like a puppy. Now it’s back in the corner, at the surface. Oops, back with his friend the cardinal !

I have no experience with these fish so this might be normal but it sure is worrisome !

My foxface is always in its "stress" colors at night. Hes usually at the top corner of my tank at night or sometimes huddling next to other fish. The not eating part would have me worried, but I find they are usually pretty timid so he may be still getting used to the tank and tankmates.

OP
OP
Idech

Idech

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hard to say from the videos but mine was very sheepish for weeks when it arrived. Full camo and sat in the strangest places. He wouldn't eat a thing either.

Maybe just taking it's time to adjust but if it is floating at the surface and not just trying to hide, It might be sick.
I think it’s trying to hide. It was swimming around this morning but the tang probably went after him again and it made it go back to hiding in its corner for now.