Pairing Banggai Cardinalfish

Klx110ripper

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey guys and Gals,

Just picked up a captive breed banggai cardinal last night from my local pet store, he doing great already! Eatting and swimming around freely. Now that we have the one and like him so much we kind of want to get another to make them a pair. I know they can be a little aggressive at times so i was curious your thoughts on this? Im still new to saltwater so these are my noobie questions lol

Should i get a second for my tank?
Will it be hard to get them to pair?
Best way to get them to pair?

Thanks in advance!

Darsh

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If you want a male/female pair you need to find out which you have.
I've heard if you give them a good feeding so their belly is really full it's possible to vent them and see the difference between male and female.

OP
OP
Klx110ripper

Klx110ripper

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thank you for the reply! We really enjoy them so we were doing to do a pair. Not necessarily for breeding

Peace River

Thrive Master
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
IME they do better in groups (usually an odd number). At least 3 and 5 if you have room. They are enjoyable fish - good luck!

OP
OP
Klx110ripper

Klx110ripper

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
IME they do better in groups (usually an odd number). At least 3 and 5 if you have room. They are enjoyable fish - good luck!

I only have a 40 gallon tank, so don't want to overload it. He was actually the first fish added after my cycle!!! Its been a long wait lol

OP
OP
Klx110ripper

Klx110ripper

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0