Phytoplankton Culturing questions

Robert.Brandvold

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi guys, I'm new to R2R, but just started a phytoplankton culture, from Mercer of Montana. How often should I dose with fertilizer? Only after harvesting? Or is it beneficial to dose again during the process? Also, I am keeping my lights on for about 16 hours a day, give or take..not on a timer, but a when should I harvest? 7 days out, 14?
Thanks for any advice

20210206_094723.jpg

Spare time

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I dose once a week. If I bottle some up, I do so right before dosing the f/2. What I bottle goes in the fridge, or straight into the tank.

Alexreefer

Coral, Coral, Coral!!!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The key is to keep things sterile and the phyto suspended.
agreed, keep cross-contamination as low as possible, when restarting cultures clean everything down with rubbing alcohol, as for light I usually keep my for 12-16 and phyto grows well, just be careful not to over do it because you can get some algae to grow

clhardy5

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi guys, I'm new to R2R, but just started a phytoplankton culture, from Mercer of Montana. How often should I dose with fertilizer? Only after harvesting? Or is it beneficial to dose again during the process? Also, I am keeping my lights on for about 16 hours a day, give or take..not on a timer, but a when should I harvest? 7 days out, 14?
Thanks for any advice

20210206_094723.jpg
I was wondering the same thing. I emailed Mercer of Montana, and they said that if the culture started to turn yellowish, that I could add some more f/2. I did this on one of my cultures, and it greened right up.

Kevin Finocchiaro

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
i recently made my 1st batch of phytoplankton and realized i had some questions about harvesting.