Pipe Organ Coral Question

SaltyMcAfee

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi there! I’m new to Reef2Reef I’ve had my 10 Gallon reef going for about 6 or 7 months now and I have 4 different types of corals going, the Xenia, GSP, and Zoanthid are all doing great! For some reason my Pipe organ coral though is not all that great, it opens up a little bit but doesn’t fully bloom as you would say. Anybody have any ideas what the issue could be? Ive got a saltwater test kit coming in today to get water parameters and such which will tell me more, but I’m just wondering if anyone here has a few ideas just to give me an idea. Thanks in advance!!
Alec

reef lover

It's a reef thing....
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
They can be finicky...need enough flow to keep detritus from settling among them but not too much as to damage the polyps on the sharp skeleton. I would keep trying new spots until you find its happy spot.

OP
OP
S

SaltyMcAfee

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
They can be finicky...need enough flow to keep detritus from settling among them but not too much as to damage the polyps on the sharp skeleton. I would keep trying new spots until you find its happy spot.
Thank you for the response!! Great to know! I have a new power head coming in tomorrow that should help get rid of any tiny dead spots, any tips on good gph to shoot for in a 10 gallon reef?

reef lover

It's a reef thing....
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Never done a nano...but the smallest you can find most likely.

Salt1823

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Pipe organs are picky about flow and light. At least my two are. They get upset if it's not just right. I agree with Reef lover move them until you find there happy spot. They will tell you;)

OP
OP
S

SaltyMcAfee

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0