Planning stages of a decent propagation setup - would LOVE input

Fyveonit

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Goals:

I have been fragging my coral for the last year, I really enjoy doing it. I wouldn't mind dabbling in local online auctions, and selling frags to local reefers. I don't have any plans to become a fish store, or even raise fish to sell.

However I would like to start the foundation of a coral propagation setup, that I could build onto if things ever got serious.

I have been a contract web developer for a little over five years now. Things run semi steady now (steady enough to afford a reefing habit), but I really wouldn't mind if it became my side job down the road. Not to mention outside of out awesome local community, we have no reliable LFS within two hours of the area.

After things are up and running. I feel I could run an online store easier than most, without the help from others. That would be endgame I guess..I have no intention on being the next J.F. etc...I would love to kick it with them though!

I am already looking into:

• LLC / DBA
  • "General Aquaculture Business License - TX Dept of Agriculture"
  • "Exotic Species Possession and/or Transport Forms - TX Dept of Wildlife"

The last thing I would want is an angry Texas Game Warden knocking on my door, so if anyone has info on what I exactly need to do to be by the books would be SUPER! I cant find any specific forms / permits for coral propagation in Texas.

Build Ideas:

Will be stocking off my home display at first which has some nice specimens going strong. Keeping my zoa/paly collection alone trimmed would net some killer frags....and allow me more space to grow more zoas on my display rock!