Pole's 180+ Gallon - Just Wing It - Build

Pole04

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have been putting this off for far too long, and if I wait any longer it will be a tank show-off thread and not a build thread. Hopefully updating this will keep me on track and keep me moving. I am easily distracted these days. So here I go…

(Warning I tend to get wordy... I will try and break it up with plenty of pictures)

I am new to both coral and the salt water hobby in general. I have always been on the outside looking at these beautiful tanks teeming with life, the colorful fish, and the countless varieties of corals thinking to myself that it would be too hard or too expensive to try.

I have kept freshwater fish on and off for the past 15 years, and I recently got bit by the bug again. About a year ago I began construction on a patio pond to keep fancy goldfish in. The pond has been hugely successful and I am preparing it for its first winter now. My collection of fancy goldfish expanded quickly from what I could find at the LFS to expensive Ranchus from top online sources. Somewhere along the way I crossed the line between it being a cheap pastime to it being a fully invested hobby.

z5330iJ.jpg

At the beginning of this summer I was the victim of an exploding e-cig battery. I am ok-ish now. A battery in my pocket exploded while I sat at work, lighting my leg and my clothes on fire. It just so happens that this all happened the same day I was supposed to go pick up a large 179.5 gallon tank I had bought to create an indoor pond for my goldfish. I was able to organize a group of my friends to take me to go pick-up the tank a few days later… against doctor’s orders (shhhh).

sGnvgfa.jpg