Pressure in RO/DI Unit

Marco S

Always Learning
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Not sure if I should post this here or under Equipment, but since I'm new to this I figured this is the right place. Please move this if it should go somewhere else.

First off, I have never been a DIY guy. I'm the guy that pays someone else to do it for me, but I figured I would give it a shot and install My RO/DI system. I installed it by my washer and dryer since I wanted it to be permanent and the garage would be way too hot here in AZ and I didn't want to drill any holes in the sink.

Here are a couple pics of the install:
FullSystem.jpg

Connection.jpg

Everything is working great and I am getting 0 TDS water at an amazing rate, (Well over the 200 GPD rate). The only problem I had was that the waste water would continue to run after the pressure gauge turned the pump off so I went to Lowes and bought another ball valve to shut it off and that works fine. Here is a pic of the shut off valve for the waste water:

WasteValve.jpg

I have the water line split off after the RO so I can produce either drinking water or RO/DI water and each line has a shut off valve as well as the main water line coming into the pump. All I have to do is open one of the valves and the pump kicks on and water is produced and when I close the valve the pressure builds up and the pump shuts off. I then close the waste water valve and the pressure will build up to about 60 and just stays there.

The question I have is, is that alright to leave 60 psi on the system all the time or is there a better way to do this?

Geebs19

Give me all the Euphyllia
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If you have something blocking the flow out of the RO and DI stages so that no water is coming out of the blue lines, the pressure should build up and kick the auto shut off valve and all water should stop flowing out of the waste line.

OP
OP
Marco S

Marco S

Always Learning
View Badges