PTSD treatment tank

1fishkeeper

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Copied from another forum. So if I have dates or suck they might be a little off.

Well first off I would like to start a thread about my tank build that I'm going to build. But a little back ground on me. I guess I'm going to name my tank the PTSD treatment tank. I am a Army combat vet. I was in the infantry and served in Iraq a couple of times. I have a 40 breeder right now that I watch more then my TV.
Now onto the tank. I ordered a Deep Sea Aquatics 190 gallon pro. I have been looking at all of the different tanks and looking and trying to figure out what one or style would work best for me. The DSA had everything that I wanted and the price was good. While looking at tanks I planned on going with a steel frame stand for my tank. Then covering it with a wood skin. I talked to one company that builds tanks and stands and got a quote from them. At first I was thinking that it was a really good deal. A steel stand and then having it powder coated for $1100. But I guess I got a wild hair up my butt and thought about checking out a few other places. Then on my way home from the LFS I though that I should stop and talk to a local metal fabrication shop that is next to my house. He asked me to the size and what color of the powder coat that I would like on it. He worked up a price for me right there and said $413 for everything. Well I gave him the money and he said it would be done in 7-10 days.
So I guess as soon as I start getting everything I will start this crazy build. I'm looking forward to this and can't wait until I can sit back and enjoy the fruits of my labor of getting my little part of the sea in my living room. I will be asking tons of questions and will be posting pictures as things goes. So I guess the next part is planning equipment to get ordered or on the list of things that I need to order.

The tank as it sat in my garage.

Attachments

• 20130928_184506.jpg