Pulsing Xenia... newbie needs help!

campgrrl

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone!
I am a newbie here as well as to the saltwater world. I have a 27gal saltwater tank that has been up and running for about 5 months. I have two clownfish, two peppermint shrimp, 2 emerald crabs, 5 blue hermit crabs and one dying xenia! The xenia has been in my tank for about 4 weeks. It has never fully opened in the tank and now it is loosing its branches? I have tested the ph,calcium,nitrates,ammonia, and salinity. Everything is where is should be. I have only used ro/do water and have added trace minerals to it. What am i missing that is making my Xenia die? I have uploaded a picture of it. Also i am starting to get black hairlike algae? Don't know if this is part of the problem? I am raking it off the sand on a weekly basis. Any help is greatly appreciated!

Attachments

• tank 025.jpg
    tank 025.jpg
    80.3 KB · Views: 876

dakotasreef

Prestige Worldwide
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I personally can't keep it. In my softies tank it will stay alive but never spreads.

I have heard that xenia likes iodine, but maybe someone can chime in who is successful with it.

That has to be the cleanest sand I have ever seen.

OP
OP
C

campgrrl

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My lighting is a Marineland Double Bright Led with blue night phase. I have a Marineland canister filter and a protein skimmer. I keep the sand raked to keep the algae off of it.. don't know if thats good or not?

boehm742

ReefKeeper
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am able to keep just about every coral but xenia. It will stay put and partially open but thats all the clump ive had for over a year now has ever done.

Mufasa31

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have xenia in my 14 biocube with leds. It likes to be about a 3rd of the way up in the tank. It grows very fast.

OP
OP
C

campgrrl

View Badges
Reaction score