Purple stuff?? This the good stuff or bad?

reefertanker

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m new to reef tanks and about 3 months in. My tank went threw its fishless cycle after two months. I added two clowns and a week after 2 fire fish goby and just recently added a cleaner shrimp. 29gallon tank with 10 gallon sump and a protein skimmer. As well as 7 different corals and a pencil urchin I added with the shrimp. 1 turbo 3 nerat snails and 7 hermit crabs. This purple started on the sand and made its way on my rock and elsewhere. What is it and is it bad?

water parameters:

amonnia 1ppm(after adding shrimp and urchin)
Nitrite 0
Nitrate 0
Salinity 1.026
My Hardness is 11 I overdosed on solution 2 by accident. (I am new.)

image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg

Fish Think Pink

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m new to reef tanks and about 3 months in. My tank went threw its fishless cycle after two months. I added two clowns and a week after 2 fire fish goby and just recently added a cleaner shrimp. 29gallon tank with 10 gallon sump and a protein skimmer. As well as 7 different corals and a pencil urchin I added with the shrimp. 1 turbo 3 nerat snails and 7 hermit crabs. This purple started on the sand and made its way on my rock and elsewhere. What is it and is it bad?

water parameters:

amonnia 1ppm(after adding shrimp and urchin)
Nitrite 0
Nitrate 0
Salinity 1.026
My Hardness is 11 I overdosed on solution 2 by accident. (I am new.)

image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg
Welcome!

Glad you joined! If the purple stuff is hard, its coralline algae which will keep bad algae from adhering so everyone considers that good. Its also a sign your tank is healthy enough and well lit enough for corals, IF you wanted to add any corals. You seem to be off to a great start, and look forward to hearing about your successes.