Really excited to join and start an extremely high-tech tank!

strich

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey there! I've been a long time lurker and video watcher. At some point this year I hope to get the funds to start my own small reef tank. Professionally I am a very experienced programmer and one thing I've been excited to try doing is building a fully automated high-efficiency tank eco/system. I will probably look to DIY as much of it as possible so I can get the most flexibility and power out of it.

One thing I'm really interested in doing as I build and mature my first system is to try to find a way to automate and self-sustain a phytoplankton + pods breeder and doser. From my research it seems like a relatively unexplored area of the hobby (automating + self-sustaining) and it looks like fun to try out without much risk involved.

One thing I'm struggling with is that there doesn't seem to be much of a local Queensland group - Do people generally trade or give away frags, macroalgae etc? I thought I'd see more of it or maybe I just can't find it.

Of course these are just words and I'm sure I will continue to be surprised by the depth of knowledge in this hobby, but that's part of the fun!

Peace River

Thrive Master
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Welcome to Reef2Reef!!!

Clownfish.gif

Digimes

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey there! I've been a long time lurker and video watcher. At some point this year I hope to get the funds to start my own small reef tank. Professionally I am a very experienced programmer and one thing I've been excited to try doing is building a fully automated high-efficiency tank eco/system. I will probably look to DIY as much of it as possible so I can get the most flexibility and power out of it.